Midas: Cassette


Release Date: 30 August, 2024

"I want it to feel like you're right there in the room with us." And in 10 songs and 40 minutes, Wunderhorse capture the raw power and energy that has set them apart as one of the most formidable live acts of recent years. With rugged hooks, unfiltered noise, and fierce melodic sensitivity, Midas rips up the script of traditional second albums and establishes the band as an endlessly addictive and rousing generational talent.

In late 2022, the release of their debut album Cub saw singles 'Purple' and 'Leader of the Pack' dominate radio airwaves. Landmark performances filling Glastonbury's Woodsies Tent (FKA John Peel Stage) and selling out London's Kentish Town Forum months in advance followed tours with Pixies and Fontaines D.C. and stadium appearances with Sam Fender, signalling the band's arrival as one of the most prominent and exciting new guitar acts in the UK.

With Grammy Award-winning producer Craig Silvey (The Rolling Stones, The National, Florence + The Machine) on board for their sophomore record, the band looked to do something different. Their goal - in the very same studio that Nirvana put In Utero to tape and PJ Harvey recorded the Mercury Prize-nominated Rid of Me - was to push themselves outside of their comfort zones.

"There's absolutely no faking on this record," ends Slater, "it's not supposed to be perfect; it's supposed to be a snapshot, even if it is a bit of an ugly portrait. That's how it was then, and that's how you're gonna see it." And it sounds like you're right there in the room with them.


1. Midas
2. Rain
3. Emily
4. Silver
5. Arizona
6. Superman
7. July
8. Cathedrals
9. Girl
10. Aeroplane

Cassette Tapes