Blue Lab Beats

Motherland Journey CD


Release Date: 25 February, 2022

Blue Lab Beats have announced their hotly-anticipated new album Motherland Journey, also releasing the LP’s title track, featuring Ghanaian production talent Killbeatz and vocals from late Afrobeat icon Fela Kuti, out 10th December.

Co-written in Accra, Ghana with Ghanaian production talent KillBeatz during a late night production session, ‘Motherland Journey’ is the title track of the anticipated forthcoming LP, and might just be Blue Lab Beats’ most ambitious single release yet, with the vocals of none other than that of Fela Kuti taking centre stage - and the estate of the musical pioneer giving BLB their full blessing to release the song. The vocals are taken from Fela’s ‘Everything Scatter’, while the single represents the first time the duo have really honed in on incorporating their jazz sound and merging it with sounds from the motherland, including amapiano. The release coincides with Blue Lab Beats’ Grammy nomination for their work on the Angelique Kidjo album Mother Nature.

An album that has quite literally been years in the making, Motherland Journey is the result of tireless days in the studio - a celebration of pushing boundaries, taking risks and overcoming adversity. Out on 25th February, it will feature recent singles ‘Labels’ featuring Tiana Major9 and Kofi Stone, ‘Dat It’ featuring Kiefer, ‘Sensual Loving’ featuring Ghetto Boy and ‘Blow You Away (Delilah)’.


1    Sky Reflections (Intro)     
2    Labels Feat. Tiana Major9 & Kofi Stone     
3    I’ll be here for you Feat. Teni Tinks     
4    Gotta Go Fast Feat. Poppy Daniels     
5    A Vibe      
6    Don’t Let It Get Away Feat. Emmavie      
7    Inhale & Exhale (Interlude)                     
8    Blow You Away (Delilah) Feat. Ghetto Boy     
9    Sensual Loving Feat. Ghetto Boy     
10    Motherland Journey Feat. KillBeatz & Fela Kuti     
11    Ultramarine (interlude)     
12    Warp Feat. Jackson Mathod & Kaidi Akinnibi     
13    Slow Down Feat. Ego Ella May      
14    Dat It (Feat. Kiefer)      
15    Home Feat. Pip Millett & Dylan Jones     
16    Real Good Feat. Jerome Thomas     
17    Reflection (Outro)

Blue Note
CD Album