Thelonious Monk

Genius of Modern Music, Volume One (Classic Vinyl Series): Vinyl LP


Release Date: 16 December, 2022

The legendary pianist and composer Thelonious Monk made his earliest recordings as a leader for Blue Note in 1947–48 as heard on the 1956 12” compilation Genius of Modern Music, Volume One (BLP 1510) released as part of the 1500 series featuring timeless Monk compositions including “’Round Midnight,” “Ruby My Dear,” “In Walked Bud,” and “Well You Needn’t.” This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is mono, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Side A
1. 'Round Midnight
2. Off Minor
3. Ruby My Dear
4. I Mean You
5. April In Paris
6. In Walked Bud

Side B
1. Thelonious
2. Epistrophy
3. Misterioso
4. Well You Needn't
5. Introspection
6. Humph

Blue Note
Vinyl LP