Lee Morgan

Taru (Tone Poet Series): Vinyl LP


Release Date: 2 August, 2024

Lee Morgan’s 1968 album Taru found the trumpeter at a crossroads exploring a variety of styles from modal jazz and post-bop to beautiful balladry and funky boogaloos. The band here is notable for the elevating presence of guitarist George Benson and the addition of tenor saxophonist Bennie Maupin.

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at RTI, and packaged in a deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket.


Side A 
1.    Avotcja One
2.    Haeschen
3.    Dee Lawd

Side B
1.    Get Yourself Together (Get Yo'self Togetha)
2.    Taru, What's Wrong With You
3.    Durem

Lee Morgan (trumpet)
George Benson (guitar)
Bennie Maupin (sax)
John Hicks (piano)
Reggie Workman (bass)
Billy Higgins (drums)

Blue Note
Vinyl LP