22°Halo: Vinyl LP


Release Date: 27 October, 2023

Martha and Jessica Kilpatrick (aka Waterbaby) had a creative upbringing in South London – spending their days singing in Southwark Cathedral Choir or experimenting with recording ideas onto cassette tapes, such as trying to make their out-of-tune family piano and a flute sound like an electric guitar. Eventually settling together in an attic flat in Peckham, the sisters became quiet, mystical forces in the underground London scene, emerging in and out of the sanctuary of their studio to perform their hypnotic live show with artists as varied as Kedr Livansky, James K, TAAHLIAH, and Dorian Electra. The sisters’ insular and feminine sonic world showcases inventive song structures backed by dizzying layers of production – all crafted on their stash of lost & found analogue gear in their South East London studio, squashed between Hyperdub’s headquarters and a mechanic’s garage. In a world where the analogue and the digital seem to be in constant headlock, Waterbaby effortlessly solve the equation – operating in a space where Cocteau Twins-esque anachronism meets the sharper edge of contemporary experimental electronica.

 “The 10-track album is a window into the duo’s alternate reality, where folklore and mysticism blend together to create a kaleidoscopic dreamworld of experimental electronica." – Dazed

“The sisters often go to magical places with their celestial compositions … Across the album’s 10 tracks, there’s a great deal of artistic ambition within the arrangements.” - Loud & Quiet "Like a distorted transmission from somewhere out of time, Waterbaby serve as our conduits, lightning rods for pop music and art of a more mystical variety." - Fact Mag

"Their long-awaited debut 22° Halo' locates their sound somewhere between the nebulous chamber pop of Cocteau Twins, the meticulous synths of Air, and the speculative electronics of Arca or Oneohtrix Point Never." - DJ Mag

1. Satin
2. Strawberry Jam
3. Tangerine
4. Revolve
5. Close Up Magic
6. Underwire Bra
7. Supermarket
8. Thin Air
9. Spiral
10. No Caller ID

untitled (recs)
Vinyl LP