Juliette Gréco

Á la Philharmonie de Berlin: Vinyl LP


Release Date: 24 November, 2023

An emblematic figure of French chanson, Juliette Gréco is an artist who left her mark on the whole of the second half of the 20th century. There is no shortage of superlatives to describe her: égérie of the cabarets of Saint-Germain-des-Prés since the late 1940s, muse to an unspeakable number of artists and intellectuals, fashion icon, ambassador of the French art de vivre. Although the press continued to refer to her as "the muse of Saint-Germain-des-Prés", she soon left the district to perform on the world's most beautiful stages for decades to come. When, in 1966, Juliette Gréco gave a recital at the Philharmonie in Berlin at the invitation of Herbert von Karajan, she was more than just a name. She was a myth. In the hearts of crowds in East and West, she is the greatest since the death of Edith Piaf. This recording restores a great moment, born of an exceptional recital. When, at the end, 2,500 people tirelessly chanted Gréco's name, the singer could not hide her emotion: ‘This is a miracle… I must be dreaming. I used to sing in clubs under the streets in Saint-Germain-des-Prés… and now here I am in the same place where the great von Karajan conducts his orchestra!’ This 140-gram vinyl, pressed at GZ, is presented in a gatefold including an 8 pages booklet illustrated with photos from the concert and original liner notes.

Side A

1. JE SUIS COMME JE SUIS (J. Kosma - J. Prévert)
2. RUE DES CHANTEURS (C. Bolling - F. Gérald)
3. MADAME (G. Moustaki)
4. VIEILLE (J. Brel)
5. JE HAIS LES DIMANCHES (C. Aznavour - F. Véran)
6. IL N'Y A PLUS D'APRÈS (G. Béart)
7. SOUS LE CIEL DE PARIS (H. Giraud - J. Dréjac)

Side B
1. JOLIE MÔME (L. Ferré)
2. SI TU T'IMAGINES (J. Kosma - R. Queneau)
4. LA FOURMI (J. Kosma - R. Desnos)
5. LES FEUILLES MORTES (J. Kosma - J. Prévert)

Vinyl LP