Various Artists

Absolute Beginners (OST): Vinyl 2LP


Release Date: 17 July, 2020

The soundtrack to Julien Temple’s 1986 film Absolute Beginners, which featured memorable contributions from a number of artists including David Bowie, Ray Davies, The Style Council and Sade, will be reissued in July and will appear on CD in its entirety for the first time.

Bowie’s title track (here in its full eight minute version) was an enormous hit in 1986, reaching number two in the UK of March of that year and providing the filmmakers with valuable publicity for what became a rather ill-fated project.

Producers Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley produced the album, working with not only the pop stars of the day (including Eighth Wonder and Smiley Culture) but also legendary jazz arranger Gil Evans.

The album features a number of tracks unavailable elsewhere. Bowie contributed three numbers, none of which appeared on any of his studio albums and likewise Sade’s ‘Killer Blow’ can only be found on the soundtrack. The full version of The Style Council’s ‘Have You Ever Had It Blue’ also features and in edited form was a top 20 UK hit.

Side A

1. Absolute Beginners – David Bowie     
2. Killer Blow – Sade     
3. Have You Ever Had It Blue? – The Style Council     
4. Quiet Life – Ray Davies     
5. Va Va Voom – Gil Evans     

Side B
1. That’s Motivation – David Bowie     
2. Having It All – Eighth Wonder ft Patsy Kensit     
3. Rodrigo Bay – Working Week     
4. Selling Out – Slim Gaillard     
5. Riot City – Jerry Dammers     

Side C
1. Boogie Stop Shuffle (Rough & The Smooth) – Gil Evans     
2. Ted Ain’t Dead – Tenpole Tudor     
3. Volare (Nel Blu Dipinto Di Blu) – David Bowie     
4. Napoli – Clive Langer     
5. Little Cat (You Never Had It So Good) – Jonas (24)     
6. Absolute Beginners (Slight Refrain) – Gil Evans     

Side D
1. Better Git It In Your Soul (The Hot & The Cool) – Gil Evans     
2. Landlords And Tenants – Laurel Aitken     
3. Santa Lucia – Ekow Abban     
4. Cool Napoli – Gil Evans     
5. So What? (Lyric Version) – Smiley Culture     
6. Absolute Beginners (Refrain) – Gil Evans

Vinyl LP