The Jam

All Mod Cons: Vinyl LP


Release Date: 21 April, 2017

One of the most popular bands to emerge from the English punk rock scene of 1977; The Jam had a phenomenal impact on pop music and wider youth culture. In their short career, along with the Sex Pistols, The Clash, and Buzzcocks, they influenced a generation with their music, style, politics and inspiration.

Taking creative direction from a wide sphere of influences – The Who, Dr Feelgood, The Kinks and Motown to name a few, they achieved 18 consecutive Top 40 singles in the UK (including 4 number 1s) - they had a fanatical following, their singles entering straight in the top 10, or number 1 in some cases. Their gigs sold out within minutes.

Still beloved of original fans and new supporters through Paul Weller’s solo career – he still plays many of the Jam songs in his live sets today.

Landmark album from 1978 that marked a turning point in The Jam's career. Following the negative press for the band’s second album – The Modern World and rejection of songs for the follow-up, The Jam went back to the drawing-board for All Mod Cons. Consequently the album demonstrated a great leap in song writing maturity and featured some of their strongest material.

Weller used his influences (notably The Kinks’ Ray Davies) more creatively in a distinctive dissection of British life, allied to great tunes, impeccable playing and gave the band a renewed sense of purpose.

Includes the classic hit singles Down In The Tube Station At Midnight, and double A-side David Watts / 'A' Bomb in Wardour Street.

“The Jam brought us the sound of ’65 in 1976 and now in 1978 they bring us the sound of ’66. Again, they’ve done it in such a way that it all sounds fresher and newer than anything else this year” Charles Shaar Murray – NME 1978.


Side 1

  1. All Mod Cons
  2. To Be Someone (Didn't We Have A Nice Time)
  3. Mr. Clean
  4. David Watts
  5. English Rose
  6. In The Crowd

Side 2

  1. Billy Hunt
  2. It's Too Bad
  3. Fly
  4. The Place I Love
  5. 'A' Bomb In Wardour Street
  6. Down In The Tube Station At Midnight
Vinyl LP