Johnny Cash

American III - Solitary Man: Vinyl LP


Sorry Sold Out

American III: Solitary Man is the third album in the American series by Johnny Cash released in 2000, and his 85th overall album. The album was notable for being Cash's highest charting solo studio LP since his 1976 One Piece at a Time.

Between Unchained and Solitary Man, Cash's health declined due to various ailments, and he was even hospitalised for pneumonia. The album American III: Solitary Man contained Cash's response to his illness, typified by a version of Tom Petty's "I Won't Back Down", as well as a version of U2's "One"

American III: Solitary Man, just like Cash's two previous albums produced by Rick Rubin, was a Grammy winner, taking home the award for Best Male Country Vocal Performance for Cash's version of the Neil Diamond classic "Solitary Man".


Side A
1. I Won't Back Down
2. Solitary Man
3. That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day)
4. One
5. Nobody
6. I See A Darkness
7. The Mercy Seat

Side B
1. Would You Lay With Me (In A Field Of Stone)
2. Field Of Diamonds
3. Before My Time
4. Country Trash
5. Mary Of The Wild Moor
6. I'm Leavin' Now
7. Wayfaring Stranger

American Recordings
Vinyl LP