Charlie Haden +
Pat Metheny

Beyond The Missouri Sky: Transparent Blue Vinyl 2LP


Release Date: 3 May, 2024

2LP Transparent vinyl.

Subtitled “short stories”, Beyond The Missouri Sky is the ultimate collaboration between Charlie Haden and Pat Metheny, a flagship album released in 1996 and winner of the Grammy Award for Best Jazz Instrumental Performance in 1997. Both Missouri natives, the bassist and guitarist engage in a dialogue based on their original compositions and themes by Jimmy Webb (“The Moon Is A Harsh Mistress”), Henry Mancini (“Two For The Road”), Johnny Mandel (“The Moon Song”), Roy Acuff (“The Precious Jewel”), Ennio and Andrea Morricone (“Cinema Paradiso”) and Haden’s son Josh (“Spiritual”).

Side A
1. Waltz for Ruth (Charlie Haden) 4:28
2. Our Spanish Love Song (Charlie Haden) 5:40
3. Message to a Friend (Pat Metheny) 6:13

Side B

1. Two for the Road (Henry Mancini, Leslie Bricusse) 5:16
2. First Song (for Ruth) (Charlie Haden) 6:37
3. The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress (Jimmy Webb) 4:05
4. The Precious Jewel (Roy Acuff) 3:47

Side C

1. He's Gone Away (Traditional) 4:18
2. The Moon Song (Johnny Mandel) 6:56
3. Tears of Rain (Pat Metheny) 5:30

Side D

1. Cinema Paradiso - Love Theme (Andrea Morricone) 3:35
2. Cinema Paradiso - Main Theme (Ennio Morricone) 4:24
3. Spiritual (Josh Haden) 8:22

Decca Records
Vinyl LP