Del Amitri

Change Everything: Vinyl LP


Release Date: 12 January, 2024

Originally released on A&M Records in June 1992, Change Everything reached No 2 in the UK charts and spawned four Top 30 singles - This re-issue faithfully replicates the original 1992 A&M UK release and is pressed onto high quality 180g vinyl.

Change Everything is an apposite title for this album, the first since Waking Hours, their breakthrough record which had appeared in 1989. Starting off as a janglesome Scottish indie group, Del Amitri had developed into a west-coast influenced leftfield pop act, and now with the wind of success in their hair (after the protracted build of Waking Hours), the group – Justin Currie, Iain Harvie, David Cummings, Andy Alston and Brian McDermott – paired up with producer Gil Norton and crafted a handsome rock album to capitalise on their success.

It's a varied, expansive selection. Ballads are represented by the delightful First Rule Of Love and Be My Downfall, but it is the uptempo numbers that shine, typified by Change Everything's lead single, Always The Last To Know, a No 11 hit in the UK and a No 30 stateside. All 12 tracks emphasise just how important Del Amitri were to 'the other 90s': straightforward, intelligent music, away from the headline fads.

1. Be My Downfall 
2. Just Like A Man 
3. When You Were Young 
4. Surface Of The Moon 
5. I Won't Take The Blame 
6. The First Rule Of Love 
7. The Ones That You Love Lead You Nowhere 
8. Always The Last To Know 
9. To Last A Lifetime 
10. As Soon As The Tide Comes In 
11. Behind The Fool 
12. Sometimes I Just Have To Say Your Name

Proper Records
Vinyl LP