• 6 Left

Chaos & Commotion: Slime Colour Vinyl LP


Release Date: 27 October, 2023

Described as "one of the most exciting names in UK indie pop” by Wonderland Magazine on her last release “supermarket”, SOFY continues to justify that with every next track, falling on eagerly awaiting ears. Current single “Ashley Cole Type Beat” not only delivers the distinctive animacy of a SOFY release but comes with the additional excitement of a wider project announcement, “Chaos & Commotion”, arriving this Oct 27th, and a UK headline tour commencing on the 28th November. 

The announcement arrives into out-stretched fingers and welcoming arms as SOFY’s army of rats continues to grow into cult-like status, and the buzz around her name is starting to turn into a national sonic stir. The “Chaos & Commotion” mixtape will be a nod to her previous two EP’s “Bored In Colour (Pt.1)” and “Bored In Colour (Pt.2)”, but will stand as a 9-track opus demonstrating the incredible artistic evolution of SOFY and the creative confidence instilled by the rewards she has reaped from earlier releases. Incredibly, the mixtape will be SOFY’s first ever masterpiece pressed to vinyl. Just 4-weeks later, SOFY will be embarking on her first ever UK headline tour to share the excitement of its release with her ever-growing fanbase, with stops in Glasgow,  Leeds, Nottingham, Bristol, Manchester, and of course her hometown of Leicester. Not forgetting London, of course, SOFY will be hosting an intimate 3-night residency at The Grace, ahead of some very exciting live plans for London in 2024.

Spearheading the announcement, single “Ashley Cole Type Beat” delivers the attitude of Kate Nash with the zest of a Beck track. Symbolic of SOFY’s innate ability to synergise the old with the new, the track is a single-handed serving of forward thinking nostalgia, that sets a very promising precedence for the mixtape to follow. Capturing this, the official music video offers a space for this attitude to come alive, as SOFY gets a chance to turn, what looks like your parents kitchen, into complete chaos and commotion.

Speaking on “Ashley Cole Type Beat”, SOFY explains; “"Ashley Cole Type Beat is one of the most playful tracks on the mixtape, it’s about hedonism, giving in to temptation and basically being a bit of a dickhead but being totally unapologetic about it - ‘Coz I’m a reckless driver, got no self control, when you’re a semi - pro liar, life’s an open goal ’. I love writing songs like this, where you can just totally lean into a character or an aspect of personality that you wouldn’t usually tap into in everyday life (coz you’d have no frie nds) - it’s like letting the devil on your shoulder write a song for you. It’s such a fun song, and I feel like the production really leans into that as well, it’s got that in - your - face almost playground - esque taunting feeling to it that matches the lyrics really well."

The mixtape will be SOFY’s first project as a proud signee to independent record label Chess Club Records, whose exemplary work has been recognised in their recent nomination for the ‘Best Boutique Label’ as part of the Independent Music Awards, 2023. The label struck whilst the iron was hot, given that SOFY had already made her remarkable debut at Glastonbury, alongside playing 8 other prominent festivals across Europe for her first run, sold out three London, headline shows, including 800-cap venue Lafayette, and even securing a spot on the FIFA 23 soundtrack with single “Big Talk”,  alongside esteemed artists FKA Twigs and Rosalía. The single now has an incredible 1 million streams to it’s title.

Commencing her music journey with the immediate support of BBC Radio 1, who fell in love with her debut single “Strawberry Milkshake”, the station’s love for SOFY has continued to flourish.  Bridging each single release with spins across a multiplicity of shows on the station, SOFY has enjoyed station-wide praise ranging from Greg James on his breakfast show, to Mollie King & Maia Beth on their specialist ‘Future Pop’ show, to most recently Arielle Free describing SOFY as "someone we are really excited about!" after spinning single “socks” on her evening slot. 

“Chaos & Commotion” will follow on from the resounding success of her highly acclaimed EP’s, “Bored in Colour (Pt.1)” and “Bored In Colour (Pt.2)”, the vivacious pop songstress SOFY, is back in the spotlight with a fresh release for her yearning fans, also known as her ‘rats’.  Having swiftly captivated the British pop music and cultural landscape with her cleverly crafted, relatable lyrics and playful approach, SOFY has amassed millions of streams, won the adorations of press across the globe, from the UK’s Clash Magazine, Notion, Wonderland, DIY, DORK, The Independent, DMY, to Germany’s Colors, and Diffus Mag, to as far as America’s Billboard, SOFY has solidified her status as a rising star to keep a close eye on in 2023 and beyond.

Side A

1. Yoyo
2. Ashley Cole Type Beat
3. socks
4. Timothée Chalamet
5. Breathing Exercises

Side B
1. No Drama
3. He’s Not You
4. supermarket

Chess Club 2
Vinyl LP