• Sold Out!
Fear Factory

Genexus: Standard CD


Sorry Sold Out

Release Date: 7 August, 2015

Rarely can a musical artist claim to be a true innovator, a creator of their own genre, a revolutionary amongst a sea of sameness. Having invented the ‘cyber metal’ sound, Fear Factory are one of those rare cases.

Formed in Los Angeles in 1990, Fear Factory entered the metal scene with the crushing debut, 1992’s ‘Soul Of A New Machine’. Combining death metal with an industrial influence, the original line up of vocalist Burton C Bell, drummer Raymond Herrera, guitarist Dino Cazares and bassist Andrew Shives was onto something that had not been widely explored. Even Fear Factory’s earliest sound was immediately distinguishable by Herrera’s intense machine-like drumming and Bell’s tremendous dual vocal style, which seemed to effortlessly switch between animalistic growls and clear, operatic tones. Fear Factory had set a new standard in extreme music, a standard they would continue to bear to this very day.

In 1995, Fear Factory would release their second full length album, ‘Demanufacture’, which further refined Fear Factory’s distinct sound. Herrera’s beats invoked robotic, mechanical imagery, while Bell’s lyrics were bleak and ominous. This was also the introduction of bassist Christian Olde Wolbers, who would replace Shives.

‘Obsolete’ saw a creative surge in Fear Factory. The album blended the technological themes of ‘Demanufacture’ with a more cinematic atmosphere while Bell’s vocals reached a new level of refinement. A commercial success, ‘Obsolete’ saw the band breaking into the Top 100 on the album charts, a headlining spot on the second stage of 1999’s Ozzfest as well as the band’s involvement in soundtracks to movies like ‘Saw’, ‘Mortal Kombat’ and ‘Resident Evil’.

Fear Factory fragmented in 2002 and Bell went on to record two albums without Cazares, ‘Archeytype’ and ‘Trangression’, the latter veering towards alt-rock. The duo finally reunited in 2009 releasing ‘Mechanize’ (2010) and ‘The Industrialist’ (2012), which both saw a return to the band’s trademark cyber metal sound.

Co-produced by the band and longtime collaborator Rhys Fulber and mixed by Andy Sneap (Megadeth, Machine Head), ‘Genexus’ completes Fear Factory’s resurgence. Songs like ‘Soul Hacker’ and ‘Anodized’ are classic groove monsters that will have concert halls heaving with bodies while the likes of ‘Dielectric’ recall the futuristic frantic thrash of ‘Demanufacture’.

1. Autonomous Combat
2. System
3. Anodized
4. Dielectric
5. Soul Hacker
6. Protomech
7. Genexus
8. Church Of Execution
9. Regenerate
10. Battle For Utopia
11. Expiration Date

Nuclear Blast
CD Album