Anaïs Mitchell

Hadestown (Original Broadway Cast Recording): 2CD


Sorry Sold Out

After an acclaimed run of performances at the National Theatre in 2018, Hadestown returns to London in February 2024 for its long-awaited West End premiere at the Lyric Theatre, Shaftesbury Avenue.

This Grammy award winning recording represents the Broadway show in its entirety. It features vocal performances by Reeve Carney (Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark); Tony nominees Eva Noblezada (Miss Saigon), Patrick Page (Spring Awakening), and Amber Gray (Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812); and Tony winner André De Shields (The Wiz).

Following two intertwining love stories - that of young dreamers Orpheus and Eurydice, and that of King Hades and his wife Persephone - Hadestown, the 8x Tony-winning musical (including Best Score and Best Musical) by celebrated singer-songwriter Anaïs Mitchell, invites audiences on a hell-raising journey to the underworld and back. Mitchell's beguiling melodies and innovative director and Tony Award nominee Rachel Chavkin's poetic imagination pit industry against nature, doubt against faith, and fear against love.

Performed by a vibrant ensemble of actors, dancers, and singers, Hadestown delivers a deeply resonant and defiantly hopeful theatrical experience. This album was produced by Grammy® winner David Lai (the 2009 West Side Story Cast Album) alongside Todd Sickafoose and Anaïs Mitchell, who also collaborated on Mitchell’s celebrated modern folk album Young Man in America.

Disc 1

1. Road to Hell / 2. Any Way the Wind Blows / 3. Come Home with Me / 4. Wedding Song / 5. Epic I / 6. Livin' it Up on Top / 7. All I've Ever Known ("In spite of herself...") [Intro] / 8. All I've Ever Known / 9. Way Down Hadestown / 10. A Gathering Storm / 11. Epic II / 12. Chant / 13. Hey, Little Songbird / 14. When the Chips are Down ("Songbird vs. rattlesnake...") [Intro] / 15. When the Chips are Down / 16. Gone, I'm Gone / 17. Wait for Me ("Hey, the big artiste...") [Intro] / 18. Wait for Me / 19. Why We Build the Wall / 20. Why We Build the Wall ("Behind closed doors...") [Outro]

Disc 2

1. Our Lady of the Underground / 2. Way Down Hadestown (Reprise) / 3. Flowers / 4. Come Home with Me (Reprise) / 5. Papers ("You're not from around here, son...") [Intro] / 6. Papers (Instrumental) / 7. Nothing Changes / 8. If it's True / 9. How Long? / 10. Chant (Reprise) / 11. Epic III / 12. Epic III ("They danced...") [Instrumental] / 13. Promises / 14. Word to the Wise / 15. His Kiss, the Riot / 16. Wait for Me ("If you wanna walk out of hell...") [Intro] [Reprise] / 17. Wait for Me (Reprise) / 18. Doubt Comes In / 19. Road to Hell (Reprise) / 20. We Raise Our Cups

CD Album