• 7 Left
The Teskey Brothers, Orchestra Victoria

Half Mile Harvest: CD


Release Date: 26 October, 2018

There is something incredibly special about Warrandyte’s The Teskey Brothers. It’s not just the music they make, or their preternatural ability to conjure the spirit of soul and blues masters, or even lead singer Josh Teskey’s era-defying voice that seems to belong more in the Mississippi Delta than rural Victoria. It’s the fact that they’ve been hiding in plain sight, honing their craft for a decade, playing countless shows at the local pub, weddings and even a swimming pool, before making serious waves with their debut album ‘Half Mile Harvest’.

The results of their effort and attention to detail are stunning. Across its 10 tracks The Teskey Brothers take influence from Otis Redding, JJ Cale and Marvin Gaye, mixing in elements of old Blues and British Invasion rock n roll, even some psychedelia, to create a record that feels completely timeless, transcending eras to deliver something that could have been made now or 50 years ago. It’s no mere pastiche though either. It’s a sound that knows its influences, but The Teskey Brothers have spent enough time playing together to find their own sound and put their distinctive mark on something classic.

1. Crying Shame     
2. Say You'll Do     
3. Pain And Misery     
4. Shiny Moon     
5. Reason Why     
6. I Get Up     
7. Louisa     
8. Til' The Sky Turns Black     
9. Hard Feeling     
10. Honeymoon

Decca Records
CD Album