The Wake

Here Comes Everybody: Vinyl LP + 7"


Release Date: 20 October, 2023

Factory Benelux presents a heavyweight 180 gram black vinyl edition of Here Comes Everybody, the highlyregarded second album by Scottish group The Wake, originally released by Factory Records in 1985, and issued now with a bonus 7-inch single + digital copy.

The Wake formed in Glasgow in 1981 after singer/guitarist Caesar left Altered Images. Joining Factory the following year, the group toured with New Order and released popular mini-album Harmony. Trailed by sprightly single Talk About the Past in 1984, second album Here Comes Everybody was eventually recorded as a trio, combining dreampop melodies and wistful lyricism typified by standout track O Pamela (later interpreted by artful French new wave covers project Nouvelle Vague).

Praise for Here Comes Everybody: “Holds up as a touchstone for aching, atmospheric synth-pop, all slinky guitars, crispy percussion, textured keyboards and limber bass" (Pitchfork); “The album stands as a pillar of moody synth pop, still bearing passing resemblance to New Order while retaining the bounce of the Postcard label bands and the cavernous production of Closer-era Joy Division, covering it all in some of the heaviest synth wash this side of Klaus Schulze" (Dusted)

Re-mastered for vinyl, the original 8 track album is now augmented by companion singles Talk About the Past and Of the Matter, pressed on a bonus 7-inch single in a picture sleeve. Here Comes Everybody itself is pressed on 180 gram black vinyl, housed in a white reverse board sleeve with printed inner bag containing lyrics, images and liner notes by band members Carolyn Allen and Caesar.

Vinyl Tracklist:
Side A

1. O Pamela
2. Send Them Away
3. Sail Through
4. Melancholy Man

Side B
1. World of Her Own
2. Torn Calendar
3. All I Asked You To Do
4. Here Comes Everybody

7” Tracklist:
1. Talk About the Past (7” version)
2. Of the Matter (7” version)

Factory Benelux
Vinyl LP