Juno Reactor

Imagination, Use It As a Weapon: Signed 5CD


Release date: 15 March, 2024

Juno Reactor –‘Imagination, Use It As A Weapon’, the legendary soundscapes of the electronic music pioneers, 1993–2000. Five classic albums newly mastered in one set: ‘Transmissions’, ‘Luciana’, ‘Beyond the Infinite’, ‘Bible of Dreams’ and ‘Shango’. Includes a print signed by frontman Ben Watkins

Includes music featured in the films The Matrix Reloaded, The Animatrix,Once Upon a Time in MexicoandMortal Kombat Annihilation

Composer, producer, musician and performer Ben Watkins is an essential innovator of modern electronic music and a pioneer of Trance. Over the course of nearly 30 years, Watkins has created a unique driving fusion of electronica, orchestral and global music executed on an epic & symphonic scale. As well as releasing a string of influential albums as Juno Reactor, Watkins’ tracks have been placed in numerous high-profile feature films, television programmes and computer games and Ben Watkins composed large sections of the original score for the films The Matrix Reloadedand The Matrix Revolutions, as well as composing the entire orchestral score for Japanese anime feature film Brave Story.

Juno Reactor was formed as an art project in 1990. Ben Watkins wanted to collaborate with other artists, producing exciting projects that were not commercially driven. He wanted to create experimental music and non-musical soundtracks that would work with installations, art pieces, and film projects.

Juno Reactor released their first single, ‘Laughing Gas’, in 1993 on theNovaMutelabel. This was soon followed by their debut album,’Transmissions’. Later, the band releasedLucianaonAlex Paterson's (The Orb)Inter-Modolabel. Juno Reactor leftNovaMuteandInter-Modoin 1995 and signed with theUKlabelB’ Room to release the single ‘Guardian Angel’. Their album’Beyond the Infinite’was released in 1995.

The 1997 ’Bible of Dreams’was Juno Reactor's fourth album. It had a very different sound from the group's previous albums, and moved away from the traditional dance beats by implementing tribal influences. Watkins collaborated withAmampondo, a traditionalSouth Africanpercussion act, on the single ‘Conga Fury’.

Watkins and Amampondo went on a five-week tour of the US, opening forMoby. In 1998, Juno Reactor played a live set with Amampondo atGlastonbury Festival. Watkins released the fifth Juno Reactor album,Shango, in 2000. It was the first of his albums onMetropolis Records. The first track from the album, ‘Pistolero’, was a collaboration withBilly Idol's guitarist,Steve Stevens. The track was featured during the trailer for the movieOnce Upon a Time in Mexico, as well as in the film itself.

Juno Reactor’s stunning live performances are global, Burning Man (USA), Glastonbury (UK), Roskilde (Denmark), Fuji Rock (Japan), The Glade (UK), Boom (Portugal), Ozora (Hungary), Summer Sonic (Japan) BoomTown Fair (UK), and many more.

CD1 –Transmissions (1993)
1. High Energy Protons
2. The heavens
3. Luna-Tic
4. Contact
5. Acid Moon
6. 10,000 Miles
7. Laughing Gas
8. Man To Ray
9. Landing

CD2 –Luciana (1994)
1. Luciana

CD3 –Beyond the Infinite (1995)
1. Guardian Angel
2. Magnetic
3. Ice Cube
4. Feel the Universe
5. Samurai
6. Silver
7. Rotablade
8. Mars

CD4 –Bible of Dreams (1997)
1. Jardin de Cecile
2. Conga Fury
3. God is God
4. Komit
5. Swampthing
6. Kaguya Hime
7. Children of the Night
8. Shark

CD5 –Shango (2000)
1. Pistolero
2. Hulelam
3. Insects
4. Badimo
5. Masters of the Universe
6. Nitrogen Part One
7. Nitrogen Part Two
8. Solaris
9. Song for Ancestors

Edsel Records
CD Album