• 2 Left
New Land

Jazz Contrasts: Vinyl LP


Release Date: 17 November, 2023

Jazz Contrasts, one of the stand-out titles in Kenny Dorham’s already incredible catalogue is being given the New Land treatment, mastered directly from the original tapes by Kevin Gray and housed in deluxe packaging, making this the definitive edition.

Kenny Dorham is one of the all time great jazz trumpeters. Starting out, he played in the big bands of Lionel Hampton, Billy Eckstine, Dizzy Gillespie, and Mercer Ellington and the quintet of Charlie Parker. As well as featuring as a sideman in some of the best bands of the day,

Dorham led his own groups too. Jazz Contrasts was recorded at Reeves Sound Studio in New York between May 21st and 27th 1957. The session finds Kenny on sparkling form alongside the equally magnificent Sonny Rollins on tenor sax, Hank Jones on piano, Oscar Pettiford on bass, Max Roach on drums and masterful jazz harpist Betty Glamann.

“A consistently high creative level is maintained throughout, with Dorham in fine form, punching ack-ack fashion on the up[1]tunes and soaring lyrically on the ballads. For those who demand an attention to melody, as well as a firm rhythmic base, this is recommended. There’s a whole lot of blowin’ goin’ on here and almost all of it is meaningful” - Downbeat, 1958

1. Falling In Love With Love

2. I’ll Remember

3. Laure

4. My Old Flame

5. But Beautiful

6. La Villa

New Land
Vinyl LP