Josh T Pearson

Last Of The Country Gentlemen: CD


Sorry Sold Out

Josh T. Pearson’s debut album ‘Last Of The Country Gentlemen’ was voted the Rough Trade Album Of The Year 2011.

"A Stone-Cold Masterpiece" – Uncut ****

"A Modern Classic" – The Times *****

"America’s Lost Genius Returns" – MOJO ****

''I come from a long line in history of dreamers/Each one more tired than the one before/All of us too poor to pay attention/Sweet dreamin' was all we could afford'' - Josh T. Pearson 2011

Josh T. Pearson's debut solo album is a collection of seven songs drawn from the lessons of what he describes as ''a rough year''; songs that are personal, powerful, painful, songs that move with their honesty, that offer hope from the trials he's suffered and survived. The songs were recorded in a Berlin studio in two nights, freshly written and committed to tape after Josh saw how they affected audiences when he played them. It is the bravest album you'll hear in 2011.

Josh T. Pearson is a musician from Texas. His father was a 'fire and brimstone' style southern preacher and this strict religious upbringing has informed much of his musical output.

Josh formed the short-lived but critically acclaimed band Lift to Experience, who released one double album concept record, 2001's The Texas-Jerusalem Crossroads, before splitting up soon after.

So beloved by John Peel were they that he had them record three sessions in five months and were included in the Best Peel Sessions of all time.

The album also regularly appears in MOJO and Uncut 'Best Of 2000s' and 'Lost Classic' polls.

Since Lift To Experience, Josh T. Pearson has released only one studio recording, I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry, a split 7'' single with the Dirty Three and appearing on the Mercury Prize nominated Bat for Lashes album Fur and Gold.

The fact that Josh is still to release his debut solo record has only fuelled the rumours and the mystery that surrounds him.

Josh is hugely respected amongst his fellow musicians. His fans include Mogwai, Interpol, Dirty Three, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Band Of Horses, Midlake and My Bloody Valentine.

Mute Artists
CD Album