• 1 Left

Machine Messiah: CD + DVD


Release Date: 13 January, 2017

Digibook CD + DVD.

It was the city of Belo Horizonte, Brazil that launched the ascent of native sons Sepultura (Portuguese for ‘grave’) in 1983 with a trajectory aimed unsuspectingly at the worldwide metal music scene. A band with humble economic beginnings whose musical identity was forged in the context of living through Brazil’s authoritarian military dictatorship, Sepultura would go on to become Brazilian ambassadors to the metal world.

Now featuring long-time guitarist Andreas Kisser (who joined in 1987), original bassist Paulo Jr., Ohio-born vocalist Derrick Green and drum prodigy Eloy Casagrande, Sepultura continue to release skull-crushing albums and pack venues and festival stages worldwide. In 2015 they celebrated their 30th anniversary by undertaking a world tour playing songs from every era of their starred history.

The band’s 14th studio album, ‘Machine Messiah’, produced by Jens Borgen (Opeth, Amon Amarth) was inspired by the robotisation of our society. Guitarist Andreas Kisser explains “the concept of a God Machine who created humanity and now it seems that this cycle is closing itself, returning to the starting point. We came from machines and we are going back to where we came from. The messiah, when he returns, will be a robot, or an humanoid, our bio-mechanical savior.”

The stunning cover artwork of ‘Machine Messiah’ was created by Filipino artist Camille Della Rosa. “The painting ‘Deus Ex-Machina’ is a masterpiece!” raves Kisser. “I was really shocked to see how her concept of the painting was a perfect fit to our concept! The cover was done 6 years ago for our new album and she didn’t know it! Neither did I but I’m glad we crossed each other’s paths. Camille’s work is intense and in your face. We are lucky to have such a great artist working with us, she’s kind and very talented. She brings something new and exciting to a career of 32 years during which amazing artists have created memorable and iconic album covers.”


  1. Machine Messiah
  2. I Am The Enemy
  3. Phantom Self
  4. Alethea
  5. Iceberg Dances
  6. Sworn Oath
  7. Resistant Parasites
  8. Silent Violence
  9. Vandals Nest
  10. Cyber God
  11. Chosen Skin
  12. Ultraseven No Uta

The Making Of ‘Machine Messiah’

Nuclear Blast