Metal Allegiance

Metal Allegiance: Limited Edition CD


Release Date: 18 September, 2015

Never before has one entity encapsulated so many components of the heavy metal community’s continued vibrancy and dedication to the lifestyle than the collective fittingly called METAL ALLEGIANCE. Now, METAL ALLEGIANCE unleashes an album as pulverizing, energetic, atmospheric, and awe inspiring as fans of the jaw-dropping list of associated bands should expect.

The liner notes for the METAL ALLEGIANCE album read like a massive chunk of a heavy metal encyclopedia, with contributions from past and present members of MEGADETH, TESTAMENT, DREAM THEATER, LAMB OF GOD, SLAYER, EXODUS, MASTODON, PANTERA, TRIVIUM, KINGS X, HATEBREED, SEPULTURA, MACHINE HEAD, ANTHRAX, LACUNA COIL, THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN, PERIPHERY, DEATH ANGEL, JUDAS PRIEST, ICED EARTH, and ARCH ENEMY. Live incarnations of METAL ALLEGIANCE have seen guest appearances from Geezer Butler (BLACK SABBATH), Phil Campbell and Mikkey Dee (MOTÖRHEAD), Wolfgang Van Halen (VAN HALEN), Steve Vai and Billy Sheehan.

As Troy Sanders (MASTODON) declared when he joined Metal Allegiance at the NAMM Convention in January 2015: “Holy Shit! I’ve been invited to the All-Star game!”

METAL ALLEGIANCE founder MARK MENGHI describes his relationship with the other core-members (DAVID ELLEFSON, MIKE PORTNOY and ALEX SKONICK) in terms of brotherhood, and it was those four who buckled down to write the first batch of original, all-new material for the METAL ALLEGIANCE album. As principal architects, ELLEFSON (MEGADETH), PORTNOY (THE WINERY DOGS), SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT), and MENGHI (a bassist and musical instruments industry exec beloved by metal musicians) built a foundation of sonic steel.

More than an experiment, a one-off or a “super group,” METAL ALLEGIANCE is an experience. D. Randall Blythe (LAMB OF GOD) lends his blistered pipes to “Gift Of Pain,” which features dueling solos from Skolnick and Gary Holt (EXODUS, SLAYER). Troy Sanders (MASTODON, KILLER BE KILLED) sets an ominous vocal mood with the vintage PINK FLOYD infused “Let Darkness Fall,” with Rex Brown (PANTERA, KILL DEVIL HILL) pitching in on additional bass duties. The blend of melodic power from dUg Pinnick (KINGS X) and the metalcore bite from Jamey Jasta (HATEBREED, KINGDOM OF SORROW) on “Wait Until Tomorrow” blends as seamlessly as the duet between Mark Osegueda (DEATH ANGEL) and Cristina Scabbia (LACUNA COIL) on “Scars,” or the somber intensity of “Dying Song” featuring Philip Anselmo (PANTERA, DOWN).

The album was produced by Alex Skolnick, Mark Menghi, David Ellefson and Mike Portnoy, and mixed by Josh Wilbur (Lamb Of God, Avenged Sevenfold, Gojira). “We really surrounded ourselves with good people and good musicians,” says Menghi. “That’s the whole point of it. It’s not about egos, it’s not about who is a better player. It’s more about, ‘Who is a good person?’ That’s the foundation of METAL ALLEGIANCE.”

1. Gift Of Pain (feat Randy Blythe)
2. Let Darkness Fall (feat Troy Sanders)
3. Dying Song (feat Philip H. Anselmo)
4. Can’t Kill The Devil (feat Chuck Billy)
5. Scars (feat Mark Osegueda & Cristina Scabbia
6. Destination: Nowhere (feat Matt Heafy)
7. Wait Until Tomorrow (feat dUg Pinnick & Jamey Jasta)
8. Triangulum I. Creation II. Evolution III. Destruction (feat Misha Mansoor, Ben Weinman, Charlie Benante, Phil Demmel, Matt Heafy, Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal)
9. Pledge Of Allegiance (feat Mark Osegueda)
Bonus Track:
10. We Rock (feat Mark Osegueda, Chris Jericho, Tim "Ripper" Owens, Alissa White-Gluz, Chuck Billy & Steve “Zetro” Souza)

Bonus DVD
The Making Of ‘Metal Allegiance’ (running time 45 mins)

Nuclear Blast