• 7 Left
Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers

Moanin’ (Classic Vinyl Series): Vinyl LP


Release Date: 9 April, 2021

Originally a self-titled album upon its release, the popularity of the opening track “Moanin’” led the album to take on that title. With instant classics like the bluesy title track, “Along Came Betty,” and “Blues March” the album is buoyed by an impeccable Jazz Messenger lineup of Lee Morgan, Benny Golson (one of Golson’s few recordings as a Messenger), Bobby Timmons and Jymie Merritt, this album is without a doubt one of the finest in the history of jazz.

1. Moanin’
2. Are You Real
3. Along Came Betty
4. The Drum Thunder Suite
5. Blues March
6. Come Rain or Come Shine

Blue Note
Vinyl LP