• 2 Left
Mulatu Astatke

Mulatu Of Ethiopia (25th Anniversary): Special Edition Opaque White Vinyl 2LP


Release Date: 17 May, 2024

In celebration of the 25th anniversary of the Strut label, we are delighted to unveil a special edition of a landmark album within the realm of African music – Mulatu Astatke's 'Mulatu Of Ethiopia’. Recorded in New York in 1972, this pivotal album marks a juncture in Astatke's musical journey when he adeptly fused various styles to craft the distinctive genre known as Ethio-jazz. 

For this special edition, the release features the original stereo mix of the full album, as well as a special ‘mono-mix’ of each track retrieved from the original 2" tapes, pressed on opaque white vinyl 2LP. 


A1 Mulatu (Stereo Mix) 
A2 Mascaram Setaba (Stereo Mix) 
A3 Dewel (Stereo Mix) 
B1 Kulunmanqueleshi (Stereo Mix) 
B2 Kasalefkut-Hulu (Stereo Mix) 
B3 Munaye (Stereo Mix) 
B4 Chifara (Stereo Mix) C1 Mulatu (Mono Mix) 

C2 Mascaram Setaba (Mono Mix) 
C3 Dewel (Mono Mix) 
D1 Kulunmanqueleshi (Mono Mix) 
D2 Kasalefkut-Hulu (Mono Mix) 
D3 Munaye (Mono Mix) 
D4 Chifara (Mono Mix) 

Strut Records
Vinyl LP