Cass McCombs

Not The Way: Vinyl 12" EP


Release Date: 6 September, 2024

The Debut Works by Cass McCombs Finally Back in Print from September 6 2024.

4AD are proud to be reissuing the first three records by unparalleled contemporary American songwriter Cass McCombs.  Released by the label outside North America in the early-2000s (Monitor released Stateside), his debut EP (Not The Way) and first two albums (and PREfection) have all been out of print on vinyl since and are now highly-sought after titles.

Twenty plus years on and 4AD are making all three records available again worldwide, having remastered them all at Abbey Road. The vinyl editions are being pressed on black vinyl and will come in their original sleeves with an OBI strip and new printed inner art added. CD versions of both albums are also being released.

Not The Way:

Cass McCombs’s 2002 debut EP Not The Way, a song-suite of narcotic lullabies, acutely observed lyrics, and preternatural hooks, introduced the world to a gifted songwriter possessed with a fully-formed vision and mission. His first release, the self-recorded 6-track EP was originally released on CD and was subsequently pressed by 4AD in the UK as a double 7” a few years later. Now finally getting the 12” pressing that will make collectors happy.


A1. Not the Way
A2. So Damn Pure
A3. Opium Flower
B1. Your Mother and Father
B2. Nobody’s Nixon
B3. It’s Getting Colder

Vinyl 12" Single