Various Artists

NOW – Yearbook 1988: Vinyl 3LP


Release Date: 3 November, 2023

NOW is proud to present the next instalment in our ongoing ‘Yearbook’ series – NOW – Yearbook 1988 with 45 tracks on 3 LPs, pressed on stunning translucent blue vinyl, to celebrate this eclectic year in Pop.

LP 1 opens with George Michael’s stellar smash ‘Father Figure’, followed by classic hits from a-ha, Duran Duran, and Eurythmics, before leading into Pet Shop Boys’ #1 ‘Heart’, and New Order’s revisited ‘Blue Monday ‘88’. The flip side opens with massive Dance Pop #1s - S'Express’s ‘Theme From S-Express’,  and Yazz & The Plastic Population’s ‘The Only Way Is Up’ before Kylie Minogue’s #1 debut ‘I Should Be So Lucky’, plus Pop gold from Bananarama, Dollar, The Timelords and Bros.

Established Rock greats returned to the charts in ’88, and Bon Jovi with ‘Bad Medicine’ and Iron Maiden with ‘Can I Play With Madness’ open LP2. Chart veterans Siouxsie And The Banshees’ peerless ‘Peek-A-Boo’ is featured alongside new-comers Tanita Tikaram and Fairground Attraction who both enjoyed great success with their chart debuts ‘Good Tradition’ and ‘Perfect’, and side A closes with two gorgeous ballads; Everything But The Girl’s version of ‘I Don’t Want To Talk About It’ and ‘Martha’s Harbour’ from All About Eve. Side B begins with Bruce Springsteen’s classic ‘Tougher Than The Rest’ and the beautiful live version of ‘Candle In The Wind’ from Elton John, plus huge hits from Aztec Camera, Deacon Blue, The Adventures, and Scritti Politti before closing with one of Sting’s most enduring tracks ‘Fragile’.

Kim Wilde continued her chart success with the smash hit ‘You Came’ and was joined by No.1 debuts from Tiffany and Belinda Carlisle. Up next are hit covers from Cher ‘(Found Someone’) and Aswad (‘Don't Turn Around’) and more Pop Reggae from Maxi Priest. Kicking off the final side, Pet Shop Boys make their second appearance with ‘Left To My Own Devices’, as well as producing the smash ‘I’m Not Scared’ for Eighth Wonder. A fabulous run of top 5 singles from Desireless, Hazell Dean, Inner City, and Womack & Womack follow before Whitney Houston closes this Yearbook edition with her exceptional vocals on the #1 ‘One Moment In Time’.

Vinyl LP