Jon Hopkins

Opalescent: Vinyl LP


Release Date: 30 September, 2016

Originally released by Just Music in 2001, Jon Hopkins' debut album, 'Opalescent' has been remastered for vinyl and will be released on heavyweight vinyl in a beautiful double gatefold sleeve featuring the original artwork with accompanying sleeve notes by Hopkins.

The release is to celebrate the fifteenth anniversary of this now seminal album. It was an extraordinary debut from a then twenty one year old Hopkins, now a critically acclaimed recording artist, Ivor Novello nominated composer of film scores and prominent producer / collaborator with artists such as Coldplay, Brian Eno and Natasha Khan who has twice been nominated for the Mercury Prize, both for his album with King Creosote, 'Diamond Mine', and for his last solo album, 'Immunity'.

Opalescent is an album that uniquely combines the light with the dark, the beautiful with the mysterious, in a glorious atmosphere where the the world of trip hop beats and chill out were made Jon's own personal domain. Sometimes eerie, sometimes majestic, but always profoundly musical.

Side A

1. Elegiac
2. Private Universe
3. Halcyon
4. Opalescent
5. Lost In Thought
6. Fading Glow

Side B

1. Apparition
2. Inner Peace
3. Cerulean
4. Grace
5. Cold Out There
6. Afterlife
Just Music
Vinyl LP