Cass McCombs

PREfection: Vinyl LP


Release Date: 6 September, 2024

The Debut Works by Cass McCombs Finally Back in Print from September 6 2024.

4AD are proud to be reissuing the first three records by unparalleled contemporary American songwriter Cass McCombs.  Released by the label outside North America in the early-2000s (Monitor released Stateside), his debut EP (Not The Way) and first two albums (and PREfection) have all been out of print on vinyl since and are now highly-sought after titles.

Twenty plus years on and 4AD are making all three records available again worldwide, having remastered them all at Abbey Road. The vinyl editions are being pressed on black vinyl and will come in their original sleeves with an OBI strip and new printed inner art added. CD versions of both albums are also being released.


With 2005’s flawless second LP PREfection, Cass McCombs entered the pantheon of singer-songwriters dealing in a signature thematic and sonic universe studded with effortless catchiness, singular mood, and literary lyrics of rare distinction.  Featuring single ‘Sacred Heart’ and favourites ‘Equinox’ and ‘She’s Still Suffering’, PREfection set the scene for Cass’s 2007 breakthrough album Dropping The Writ, rounding off a golden period when Cass was in his ascendance.


A1. Equinox
A2. Subtraction
A3. Multiple Suns
A4. Tourist Woman
A5. Sacred Heart
B1. She’s Still Suffering
B2. Cuckoo
B3. Bury Mary
B4. City of Brotherly Love
B5. All Your Dreams May Come True

Vinyl LP