Clint Eastwood

Rawhide's Clint Eastwood Sings Cowboy Favorites: Vinyl LP


Release Date: 13 October, 2023

Clint Eastwood’s breakthrough acting role came in the guise of Rowdy Yates, a cowhand with a short fuse on the TV series Rawhide. In an era when many teenage acting heartthrobs scored sizeable hits on the pop charts, it was logical that a star like Clint Eastwood would be an ideal cross-over candidate for teen musical stardom.

The fact that he landed at Cameo-Parkway, one of the leading providers of teen-oriented music consumption, is testament to the target audience everyone had in mind. Eastwood’s music, however, was far removed from the teen pop/dance craze skew of most of Cameo-Parkway Records’ efforts.

The 1963 album Rawhide’s Clint Eastwood Sings Cowboy Favorites found Eastwood (as Rowdy Yates) convincingly crooning his way through classic cowboy standards in a style that has been called “a kind of cross between Roy Rogers and Dean Martin.” Eastwood saddles up to such notable cattle drive standards as “San Antonio Rose,” “Tumbling Tumbleweeds, “Bouquet of Roses,” “Along the Santa Fe Trail,” “The Last Round Up,” “Mexicali Rose,” “Don’t Fence Me In” and five others.

Side A

1. Bouquet Of Roses
2. Along The Santa Fe Trail
3. The Last Round Up
4. Sierra Nevada
5. Mexicali Rose
6. Searching For Somewhere

Side B
1. I’ll Love You More
2. Tumbling Tumbleweeds
3. Twilight On The Trail
4. San Antonio Rose
5. Don’t Fence Me In
6. Are You Satisfied

Vinyl LP