Víkingur Ólafsson

Reflections: Exclusive Crystal Clear Vinyl 2LP


Release Date: 12 March, 2021

Deutsche Grammophon is proud to present an exclusive crystal clear 2LP vinyl limited fan edition of Víkingur Ólafsson’s Reflections available for pre-order now and slated for release on 12 March 2021. Víkingur’s most recent album for Deutsche Grammophon – Debussy · Rameau – shot to the top of the US and UK classical charts and high into Germany’s pop charts when it was released earlier this year. Now, he announces Reflections, a new album featuring “reworkings” by Ólafsson and other contemporary artists - alongside several of the Icelandic pianist’s unreleased Debussy recordings.

Víkingur Ólafsson’s remarkable originality and powerful musical conviction have seen him, in just a few years, take the music world by storm to become one of the most sought-after artists of today. The global success of Debussy · Rameau follows that of his award-winning Johann Sebastian Bach album and its sister release, Bach Reworks, featuring reimaginings by such diverse artists as Peter Gregson, Hildur Guðnadóttir, Ryuichi Sakamoto, and Skúli Sverrisson. The same thread of inspiration runs through this release, Reflections, as Ólafsson and his fellow composers celebrate the work of two French masters and translate their musical languages into a contemporary idiom.

Side A

1. Bruyères (Home Session)
2. La damoiselle élue (Hania Rani Rework)
3. Canope (Home Session)
4. Footsteps (Helgi Jonsson Rework)

Side B
1. Muse d'eau
2. L'entretien des muses (Hugar Rework)
3. K.A.H.D.
4. Reflection

Side C
1. Pour le piano, L.95: 1. Prelude
2. Pour le piano, L.95: 2. Sarabande
3. Pour le piano, L.95: 3. Toccata
4. Drowned Haiku (Clark Rework)

Side D
1. Canope
2. La Cupis (Balmorhea Rework)
4. Bruyères

Deutsche Grammophon
Vinyl LP