• 7 Left
Chailly, Bollani & Gewandhausorchester

Rhapsody In Blue: Vinyl 2LP


Release Date: 27 October, 2023

•    Marking the centenary of Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, Universal Music Italy present Chailly and Bollani’s thrilling recording in a limited and numbered 180gm 2-LP gatefold blue vinyl edition
•    Chailly blends the classical elegance and sophistication of the Gewandhaus Orchestra with the jazz/blues sensibility of the mercurial Milan-born jazz legend Stefano Bollani.
•    The Rhapsody is performed in Grofé’s original jazz-band version (orchestrated by Paul Whiteman), and in Gershwin’s original symphonic orchestration of the Concerto Chailly and Bollani leave no doubt that this is an American Jazz Age concerto
•    Catfish Row, Gershwin’s own five-movement orchestral suite from Porgy and Bess provides a bridge between the Rhapsody and the Concerto and Gershwin’s earliest significant work, the Broadway-inspired rag Rialto Ripples rounds out the set

Side A

1. Rhapsody In Blue

Side B
1. Catfish Row - Symphonic Suite
2. Catfish Row   6’19
3. Porgy Sings   4’37
4. Fugue   1’51
5. Hurricane 3’40
6. Good Mornin’ Sistuh!   7’18

Side C
1. Concerto In F For Piano And Orchestra
2. Allegro   12’15
3. Adagio - Andante Con Moto   10’16

Side D
1. Allegro Agitato  
2. Rialto Ripples

Vinyl LP