• Pre-Order
  • 2 Left
Dead Or Alive

Running Wild - The Inevitable Years: Berry Red Vinyl 2LP


Release Date: 31 May, 2024

Having been ‘discovered’ working in Liverpool’s Probe Records during the punk rock explosion of the late 1970s, Pete Burns quickly found himself fronting his very own band, Nightmares In Wax, who quickly mutated into the more familiar Dead Or Alive. A star was born. But prior to pop superstardom, tabloid-tantalising celebrity and his later revival and recognition as an icon of gay punk and pop culture, Pete led Dead Or Alive into far darker waters, as one of the earliest explorers of the post-punk Goth scene. Captured on two remarkable 7” singles originally released on Liverpool label Inevitable, the band also caught the attention of the ever-reliable John Peel, and recorded material for his seminal BBC Radio One programme. ‘Running Wild’ compiles those early singles and related Peel Session highlights, bringing the latter to vinyl for the first time. Pressed on berry red vinyl, and housed in a cover photograph by Dead Or Alive’s then-manager Francesco Mellina, ‘Running Wild presents an early glimpse at the phenomenon Pete would become, and a long overdue back story accompaniment for fans and collectors alike.


SIDE A - The Singles
1 I'm Falling
2 Flowers
3 Number Eleven
4 Namegame (Live version)

SIDE B - Peel Sessions
1 Nowhere To Nowhere
2 Running Wild
3 Number Eleven
4 Number Twelve
5 Flowers

Cherry Red Records
Vinyl LP