Pete Wylie & The Mighty WAH!

Teach Yself WAH! - A Best of Pete Wylie & The Mighty WAH! CD


Release Date: 1 March, 2024

Pete Wylie, acclaimed songwriter and Liverpudlian legend.

Best known for his work in WAH! and its off various off shoots. He began his career in bands with friends Julian Cope, Ian McCulloch and Pete Burns, before gaining nationwide attention under his own various project names with a string of singles 'The Story Of The Blues', 'Come Back', 'Sinful, 'Seven Minutes to Midnight' and later, the LFC anthem 'Heart As Big As Liverpool'.

Wylie's 'Heart As Big As Liverpool' is especially popular within the city and with Liverpool Football Club supporters, being used in the official Hillsborough tribute video. In 2008 Wylie performed at the opening ceremony of Liverpool's European City of Culture tenure.

Teach Yself WAH! - The Best Of is a new compilation bringing together music from across his numerous musical names. Wylie has hand-picked 20 songs, highlighting key points from each period in his illustrious career. As well as including his early singles and the songs which brought him chart success, he has also chosen deep cuts including the original version of his collaboration with Big Hard Excellent Fish, available for the first time since it's intial 12" only release. Pete has also recreated two tracks especially for this package, which will excite fans, hearing Pete sound as vital as ever.

Pete will embark on a UK tour from February to April 2024, with festival appearances and additional dates throughout the year in support of Teach Yself WAH! - The Best Of.

Available on CD housed in a digisleeve with cover art featuring a hand-painted portrait of Pete by Pete Townshend with liner notes from Pete Wylie.

CD Tracklist:
1. Remember
2. The Story Of the Blues (Part One)
3. You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory
4. Hope (I Wish You’d Believe Me)
5. Talking Blues (The Story Of The Blues: Part Two)
6. Come Back
7. Diamond Girl
8. Fourelevenfortyfour
9. Sinful – Song of The Sinful Angel
10. The Day That Margaret Thatcher Dies – A Party Song
11. Loverboy
12. Free; Falling (In Love With You)
13. Heart As Big As Liverpool
14. Better Scream 2024
15. Seven Minutes To Midnight 2024
16. Somesay
17. Big Hard Excellent Fish – Imperfect List (Original Version)

CD Album