Sinéad O'Connor

The Lion and the Cobra [Repress]: CD


Release Date: 6 October, 2023

Sinead O'Connor is widely regarded as one of the most influential female performers of the '90s, not only for her sensational performances and raw vocal emotion but also for her outspoken confidence to express herself publicly.

Sinead was born in Dublin in 1966 and was discovered by Paul Byrne, drummer of U2 proteges In Tua Nua, while singing wedding covers in the city. After co-writing the first In Tua Nua single, she left school to focus on music, studying voice and piano at the Dublin College of Music before relocating to London in 1985.

Released in November 1987, Sinead's striking debut album, The Lion and the Cobra, was met with critical and commercial success. The album synthesises several of Sinead's influences into a diverse array of sounds and styles, from the hushed, atmospheric 'Troy' and 'Jackie' to the pop-rock hit single 'Mandinka', and the hip-hop inspired 'I Want Your (Hands on Me)'. The album also includes 'Drink Before The War', a song written by Sinead about her experiences at the Catholic reform school she attended, and was recently featured in the HBO series Euphoria.

The album remains a high point.

1. Jackie
2. Mandinka
3. Jerusalem
4. Just Like U Said It Would B 
5. Never Get Old 
6. Troy 
7. I Want Your (Hands On Me) 
8.  Drink Before The War 
9. Just Call Me Joe

Chrysalis Records Ltd.
CD Album