• 2 Left
Hannah Peel

The Midwich Cuckoos (Original Score): Limited Transparent Yellow Vinyl LP


Release Date: 26 May, 2023

The Midwich Cuckoos is based on the 1957 science fiction novel by John Wyndham, and tells the story of an English village where the women become mysteriously pregnant.

Hannah Peel‘s score is described as a unique and intricately produced soundscape, working in harmony with the sound design of Sky’s adaptation.

With analogue synthesisers recreating the horror of the ‘Hive Mind’, tape manipulations, drones, woodwind and melodies echoing the song of the cuckoo bird, Peel creates a score that perfectly balances the organic instrumentations and melodies, juxtaposed with an increasingly dark electronic ‘invasion’.

Peel explains, “Creating the score was a constant endeavour to find the balance between darkness and light, fear and beauty. It was a very fine and intricate equilibrium between the normal sunlit logical world as we know it, and a subversive unfamiliar musical language.”

Music Producers Guild award nomination for "Original Score Recording Of The Year".

Beautiful bespoke vinyl artwork by Richard Stephenson.



1. Hive Mind

2. Cuckoo

3. Help Me

4. Ward 300

5. Hive Scream

6. Seen

7. Underground

8. Midwich School

9. Midwich Cuckoos

10. The Blackout

11. Awakenings

12. Pregnant

13. Scared

14. The Keys

15. If and When

16. No Leaving

17. Waking

18. A Pattern

19. Come Out

20. It's Over

Invada Records UK
Vinyl LP