The Mint Experiment Volume 1 & 2: Vinyl LP.


Release Date: 28 July, 2023

J-Felix presents his latest project, THE MiNT EXPERiMENT (Volume 1&2), as a series of EPs now available on vinyl as a coherently produced and succinct album. Hip-hop is the genre that initially captivated J-Felix, drawing him into the world of music and inspiring his love for the sounds of soul, jazz, and funk samples that are often used in hip-hop. Throughout THE MINT EXPERiMENT, you can hear these influences come to life through J-Felix's signature funk-infused electronic production style. He utilizes a combination of analogue synthesis, live instrumentation, and experimentation with tape cassettes to achieve this sound. Guest artists including Byron The Aquarius, MELONYX, Juga Naut, Victoria Port, and BODUR contribute to the album, reflecting J-Felix's passion for collaboration and exploration in the broader world of hip-hop, electronic, funk and soul/jazz-related music. Steering away from using samples, J-Felix collaborates with a diverse group of musicians and producers to create a truly original modern sound that pays homage to the soul music that came before it.

Originally from Bristol but now based in Brighton (UK), J-Felix is a producer, musician, and DJ who has released two critically acclaimed LPs on Tru Thoughts Records. He has also played live guitars for Alice Russell and Swindle. J-Felix's electronic funk-infused productions have garnered remixes from the likes of Hot 8 Brass Band, Amp Fiddler, Wrongtom and The Ragga Twins, Werkha, and others, along with productions for Harleighblu, MELONYX, and Mad Yella. He has contributed guitar and bass playing to records by numerous artists, including Kojey Radical and Roisin Murphy.


SIDE A (Volume 1) 
1. Like a Queen ft. Victoria Port
2. The love That Hurts ft. Bessi & Bigzy
3. Anemoia ft Juga Naut 
4. Nostalgia ft Bodur

SIDE B (Volume 2) 
1. Where Do We Start!? Ft Byron The Aquarius & Sol Goodman
2.  All it Takes ft Bessi 
3.  Peace of Mind ft Sol Goodman
4.  Genesis ft Melonyx  

OVN Records
Vinyl LP