Various Artists

The Northern Soul Scene: CD


Release Date: 15 March, 2024

Today's club culture all started with Northern Soul and its roots in the Mod all-nighter scene of London clubs. All the ingredients were there: DJs privy to the latest imports and advance promos, dancers fuelled by illegal uppers, venues which had scarcely opened when the pubs were all but deserted. The records, drugs and clubs have all changed, true, but the lifestyle is identical. Featuring classics from the Northern Soul Scene including Tom Jones, Ronnie Jones, Brotherhood of Man, Sonny Childe, Billie Davis, Tony Newman, Bats and more. Presented for the first time on orange colour vinyl and CD, this is essential for any funk and soul lovers.

1. Frankie & Johnny - I'll Hold You 
2. David Essex - So-Called Loving 
3. The Flirtations - Nothing But A Heartache
4. Fearns Brass Foundry - Don't Change It 
5. Clyde McPhatter - Baby You've Got It 
6. Micky Moonshine - Name It You Got It 
7. Ronnie Jones - My Love 
8. Fantastics - Ask The Lonely 
9. Tom Jones - Stop Breaking My Heart 
10. Billie Davis - Billy Sunshine 
11. Amen Corner - Our Love (Is In The Pocket) 
12. Danny Williams - Whose Little Girl Are You
13. Eyes Of Blue - Heart Trouble 
14. Bobby Hanna - Everybody Needs Love 
15. Dave Berry - Picture Me Gone 
16. John E. Paul - I Wanna Know 
17. Elkie Brooks - The Way You Do The Things You Do 
18. Jon Gunn - I Just Made Up My Mind 
19. Adrienne Poster - Something Beautiful
20. Brotherhood Of Man - Reach Out Your Hand 
21. Sonny Childe - Giving Up On Love 
22. Truly Smith - My Smile Is Just A Frown (Turned Upside Down) 
23. Stevie Kimble - All The Time In The World 
24. Tony Newman - Let The Good Times Roll 
25. The Bats - Listen To My Heart

Decca Records
CD Album