Hannah Peel, Paraorchestra

The Unfolding: CD


Release Date: 1 April, 2022

There are pieces of music that seek to tell us deeper stories. Others harness the talents of the players at their disposal in adventurous ways. Then there are the rare, generous works that make us think back to our roots as human beings and to our shared beginnings in the universe, that lift us in their melodies, rhythms and textures, that carry us with them. The Unfolding is all of these things. An extraordinary eight-part collaboration between composer Hannah Peel (Mercury Prize and Emmy nominee) and Paraorchestra, it was made over three years in precious morsels of time around a global pandemic. These circumstances – unexpected when the collaboration began – add weight to its explorations in sound about who we are, where we came from, and who we could all be. The Unfolding also explores Paraorchestra’s progressive idea of what an orchestra should be, mixing analogue, digital and assistive instruments with a unique ensemble of disabled and non-disabled musicians to make magic happen, and accessible to all.

1    The Universe Before Matter [10:58]     
2    Wild Animal [3:55]     
3    Passage [5:22]     
4    The Unfolding [5:47]     
5    If After Weeks Of Early Sun [4:16]     
6    Perhaps It Made Us Happy For A Minute [4:17]     
7    We Are Part Mineral [6:06]     
8    Part Cloud [10:31]     
9    The Unfolding Credits [02:19]

Real World
CD Album