Thoughts & Prayers: CD


Release Date: 29 March, 2024

After a whirlwind of tragedies, both global and personal, guitarist Mike Crain (Dead Cross, Retox, Festival Of Dead Deer), drummer Kevin Avery (Retox, Planet B) and vocalist Matt Cronk (Qui) are back with new guitarist Koko Arabian and bassist Rico Adair and their sophomore release.

Following the release of their 2019 debut, Cunts, CNTS were able to squeeze in one short tour before the world went on hold. The lockdown was spent recording and plotting, in preparation for future CNTS endeavors. However, all plans would be shelved when Matt Cronk was injured in a car wreck, resulting in a surgical mishap leaving him with a paralyzed vocal cord, unable to speak, let alone sing. CNTS heavy-heartedly announced their demise. During this period the members of CNTS pursued other projects until winter 2023 when, against the predictions of his doctors, Cronk’s injured vocal cord began to heal and within two months his voice returned. By March CNTS felt confident that they could give it another go.

Reinvigorated by Cronk’s recovery and their new lineup, CNTS spent the rest of the year hard at work on their new record, Thoughts & Prayers, the title inspired by the banality of our collective reaction to crises. With a great deal of inspiration from their recent challenges, CNTS have channelled several years of frustration and hardship into a well articulated and aggressive statement. Songs such as “Smart Mouth,” and “Thoughts And Prayers,” chronicle Cronk’s pain and anger throughout his various injuries and subsequent recovery. “I Don’t Work For You,” and “Eating You Alive,” deal with the inequity inherent in modern life. “For A Good Time (Don’t Call Her)” is a screed about the age-old theme of fighting with one’s romantic partner.

1. I Won't Work For You
2. Thoughts & Prayers
3. Smart Mouth
4. Dear Sir
5. For A Good Time (Don't Call Her)
6. Alone
7. Eating You Alive
8. Real Truth
9. Junkie
10. Drown

CD Album