Up a Tree (25th Anniversary Edition): 2CD


Release Date: 8 March, 2024

Mute celebrates the 25th Anniversary Edition of Looper’s 1999 album, Up A Tree, featuring never-before-released songs.

Initially released on Sub Pop, Up A Tree is the debut record by the Scottish lo-fi band led by Stuart David (co-founder and bass player of Belle & Sebastian) and his wife Karn David. It was recorded shortly after Looper had recruited previous band members, Ronnie Black and Scott Twynholm. Upon release, the album reached #24 on the UK independent album charts and received acclaim for its gentle sound and honest lyrics, being described by singer-songwriter Ben Folds as “…a gift of a record.”

This anniversary edition features alternative artwork designed by Karn and includes new sleeve notes by Jenny Hayo. The band attributes her as the catalyst starting Looper, as she initially approached Stuart. It also includes words from Stuart’s sister, Karla Black, whose degree show at the Glasgow School of Art saw Looper’s first-ever performance.

Up A Tree is available on CD with a bonus disc of reworkings and remixes and as a limited edition transparent green vinyl with a bonus flexi disc, including an unreleased track titled ‘Brilliant Paper’ by Ronnie Black, former member and guitarist of Looper, and Sue Tompkins, a British visual and sound artist based in Glasgow, previously in the indie rock band Life Without Buildings.


1. The Treehouse
2. Impossible Things #2
3. Burning Flies
4. Festival '95
5. Ballad of Ray Suzuki
6. Dave The Moon Man
7. Quiet And Small
8. Columbo's Car
9. Up A Tree Again
10. Back to the Treehouse

1. Back to the Treehouse (Ambient Mix)
2. Ray's Golden Fist (Bananahand Remix)
3. Burning Flies (Acoustic)
4. Columbo's Car (Peugeot 403 Mix)
5. Blurred Stars
6. Up A Tree Again (The Chocolate Layers St. John's Ambulance Mix)
7. Quiet and Small (Acoustic)
8. Dave the Moon Man (Scott Twynholm Remix)
9. Impossible Things
10. Up A Tree Again (Acoustic)

CD Album