• Sold Out!
Clock Opera

Venn: CD


Sorry Sold Out

Release Date: 10 February, 2017

Clock Opera began with Guy Connelly, a London, England-based multiinstrumentalist whose soaring, emotionally naked voice recalled the likes of Paul Buchanan (the Blue Nile), Billy Mackenzie (Associates), and Antony Hegarty (Antony & the Johnsons) without being quite as extreme as the latter two vocalists.

After forming a live band with Che Albrighton (drums, samples), Dan Armstrong (keyboards, samples), and Andrew West (bass, guitar, keyboards), Clock Opera released their first single in 2009 with the “White Noise” 7” on Puregroove. Further singles followed in 2010, including “Once and for All,” on Kitsuné. The same year, Connelly remixed the Phenomenal Handclap Band's “Baby,” Marina & the Diamonds' “I Am Not a Robot,” the Drums' “Me and the Moon,” and Au Revoir Simone's “Tell Me.” In 2011, the band’s reputation continued grow, releasing the infectious “Belongings,” single on Moshi Moshi Records. Further remixes followed for Metronomy, Feist, Everything Everything and Charlotte Gainsbourg.

Following extensive touring (with Alt-J, Metronomy, Django Django, Maximo Park), Clock Opera released their debut album ‘Ways To Forget’ on Island/Moshi Moshi Records in April 2012. The Sunday Times called it “one of the indisputable masterpieces of British pop in 2012….rare sonic ambition and scope”. Clash Magazine said “a bar-raiser – an album of intelligent synth pop bubbling with humanity. nAt the end of worldwide touring in late 2013, the band began to write the follow up to Ways To Forget. In 2014, keyboardist Dan Armstrong left to pursue his own music. Following completion of recording the second album, multi-instrumentalist Nic Nell (who also performs as Casually Here) joined in late-2015. Following comeback singles ‘Changeling’ and ‘In Memory’, Clock Opera are to release their second album ‘Venn’ on February 10th 2017. Co-produced with Kristofer Harris (Bear’s Den, Matthew & The Atlas) at Squarehead Studios, Kent, it’s a darker beast than their debut. The distinctive sound of Clock Opera— the agile alto voices, a sleek and supple rhythm section, immaculate production — is still present, but there's a marked shift in lyrical tone.

1. In Memory
2. Changeling
3. Closer
4. Whippoorwill
5. Hear My Prayer
6. Ready Or Not
7. Dervish
8. Cat’s Eye
9. Tooth & Claw
10. When We Disappear

League of Imaginary Nations
CD Album